Daily Lenten devotional 3.8.16

grassDay 28, Week 4:  Humility (Grass Seed)

Today’s scripture passage:

I tell you the truth, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed.  But if it dies, it produces many seeds.  John 12:24  NIV

Sunflowers are metaphors for my own spiritual journey.  Sunflowers are tall, but don’t require great soil to reach their heights.  As a child of divorce, I didn’t grow up in ideal conditions, but my pain allowed much spiritual growth.  Sunflowers follow the sun as they grow.  I have looked to my Heavenly Father as my source of life during my spiritual growth process.  After sunflowers bloom, their heads droop with the weight of many seeds.  Sometimes I feel burdened with pain, but I realize my story holds the potential to bless others, who are like the seeds that fall and produce a new crop.  I want to be a humble person, willing to sacrifice myself, so that others may grow in faith.

Today’s reflection:  

What can you do to produce many seeds for God’s kingdom this year?

 

Leave a Reply

