Daily Lenten devotional 3.1.16

clay potDay 21, Week 3:  God’s Will (Clay Pot)

Today’s scripture passage:

Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.  Proverbs 19:21 NIV

As a young married woman, I carried several dreams in my heart: live in a beautiful country home, be a stay-at-home mom, and work as an artist and writer.  Dreams #1 and #2 have been realized (thank you Lord!), but my creative dreams have yet to be fully realized.  I believe God’s primary purpose for me right now is to be present and involved with my children while they live at home.  God knows my creative dreams – he gave them to me!  I have to trust that his purpose is good for me now, and that my creative plans can rest securely in his perfect timing.

Today’s reflection:  

How can you submit to God’s purposes while making plans for your life?

Leave a Reply

