Daily Lenten devotional 2.27.16

clay potDay 18, Week 3:  God’s Will (Clay Pot)

Today’s scripture passage:

In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps.  Proverbs 16:9 NIV

When I graduated from high school, I chose a college close to home.  I enjoyed a full-ride scholarship and also received money from my state for high test scores, on track to graduate debt-free.  But in my second year of college, I felt God leading me to a Christian college six hours from home.  It didn’t make sense at the time, at least from a practical perspective.  I would be far away from family and friends, lose my free ride, and face significant debt.  Now I can see that God’s plans were best.  He used my years at the Christian college to open my eyes to dysfunctional relationships and teach me about money management, both in ways I wouldn’t have learned in the original situation.  I made the plans for my schooling, but God directed my steps to conform to his will.

Today’s reflection:  

How has God rerouted your course, and what have you learned from it?

Leave a Reply

