Daily Lenten devotional 2.20.16

soil and waterDay 11, Week 2:  A Pure Heart (Soil and Water)

Today’s scripture passage:

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.  1 John 1:9 NIV

Have you ever tried the ACTS prayer method?  ACTS stands for adoration, confession, thanksgiving, and supplication or seeking.  This method is helpful to me, because I spend too much time asking and not enough time praising, thanking, or confessing.  When I confess specific sins, I feel more accountable to work on them.  They’re out in the open, not hidden anymore.  In confession I agree with God that my sins are hurting me and others, and I agree to actively work on the problem.  I feel purified, like nothing stands between God and me anymore.

Today’s reflection:  

If you confessed your sins to God more often, how might it purify your heart?

2 thoughts on “Daily Lenten devotional 2.20.16

  1. Ayoola Bandele

    Hi Sarah,
    This is great. Check out Dailybibledeclarations.com for similar posts. Would you be keen to be a part of the contributor on the site? Looking forward to your response.
    Kind regards

    Like

    1. Thank you for your visit today! I checked out your site, and I am impressed with its scope and design. I appreciate your invite to be a contributor also! Let me think it over and I will get back to you. Blessings to you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

