Daily Lenten devotional 2.18.16

soil and waterDay 9, Week 2:  A Pure Heart (Soil and Water)

Today’s scripture passage:

Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin.  For I know my transgressions, and my sin is always before me.  Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight.              Psalm 51:2-4a NIV

When King David was confronted with his sins of adultery and murder, he recognized what he did wrong.  He wrote this psalm as a plea to God for the restoration of relationship.  David knew that though his sins involved other people, the root of the problem was his rebellion against God.  I value David’s humility and openness.  In his example I find hope in God’s compassion and faithfulness, even when I make major mistakes.

Today’s reflection:  

How are your sins essentially against God, even if others are involved?

Leave a Reply

