Being Aware: Finding God’s Plan in the Details

Recently my treadmill broke, so I have been exercising outside in the glorious autumn weather.  Years ago, my husband and I purchased acreage from a small country church, and now a county road runs between our properties.  I had never considered the church cemetery’s gravel pathway to be a walking track until my treadmill broke.  I began walking laps around the cemetery, enjoying the peaceful country setting.

Soon I became curious about the names on the headstones, and I took a break from walking for closer inspection.  On a fresh grave marked with a hanging flower basket, I bent over to read the small nameplate.  Tears filled my eyes as I recognized the name of a dear lady.  She was the mother of a friend I’ve known since kindergarten.

This godly woman, full of a zest for life, died from a long battle with cancer earlier this year.  I remembered joyful sleepovers at her house, and I recalled her quirky stories when she subbed for our elementary school teachers.  She was the “fun mom” in our class—always laughing and telling jokes, keeping our spirits high.  I have kept in touch with my friend in recent years, and I know how devastating this loss has been to her close-knit family.

I realized that by passing this gravesite on my walks, I have a visual prompt to pray for my friend and her family as they continue to grieve.  Like so many Christians, I start with good intentions to pray regularly for people in need, and then I easily forget to keep praying.  God’s plan is for me to pray over and over for this family during my walks.  If my treadmill had not broken, if I had walked the county road instead of the cemetery path, and if I had not stopped to inspect the new grave, I likely would have forgotten to keep praying for my friend.  I am thankful God strings those small, seemingly insignificant details together to direct me into service for His kingdom.

When I pay attention to the details right where I am, God often surprises me with new ways I can serve others.  What detail is God calling you to notice in your daily life, so you can join Jesus in serving others?

Leave a Reply

